Skip to main content

American Society for Radiation Oncology members receive fellow designation

The honorees will be recognized during the society’s annual meeting, scheduled for Oct. 21-24 in San Antonio.

“On behalf of ASTRO, I commend and thank these 35 outstanding physicians and scientists for their far-reaching contributions to our specialty over the years and for all that each individual has done to advance and improve cancer care,” Brian Kavanagh, MD, MPH, FASTRO, chair of ASTRO’s board of directors, said in a press release.

ASTRO fellows designation honors individuals who made significant contributions to the society and radiation oncology through research, education, patient care or service to the field. Only 328 of ASTRO’s 10,000-plus members around the world have received FASTRO designation since 2006.

The 2018 fellows include Eleanor E. R. Harris, MD, of Case Western Reserve University and University Hospitals … Mitchell Machtay, MD, of University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center …Min Yao, MD, PhD, of University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center …

Read full article and at